Outside Stewardship

Pacific Streamkeepers Federation (http://www.pskf.ca/ )

Pacific Salmon Foundation (http://www.psf.ca/ )

Georgia Strait Alliance (http://www.georgiastrait.org/ )

Streamtalk (http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/sep-pmvs/sci-icp/streamtalk/streamtalk-eng.htm )

Stewardship Centre (http://www.stewardshipcentre.bc.ca/ )

Newbury Hydraulics (http://newbury-hydraulics.com/ )

 

Comox Valley Groups

Comox Valley Conservation Strategy (http://www.cvconservationstrategy.org/#slideshow/img/main-map-cvcs.jpg )

Comox Valley Land Trust (http://www.cvlandtrust.org/ )

Tsolum River Restoration (http://tsolumriver.org/aboutus.php )

Project Watershed (http://projectwatershed.ca/ )

Millard/Piercy Watershed Stewards (http://millardpiercy.org// )

Comox Valley Naturalists Society (http://comoxvalleynaturalist.bc.ca/ )

Plants good and bad

Urban Agriculture Notes – composting et al (http://www.cityfarmer.org/ )

E-flora Trees of BC (http://www.geog.ubc.ca/biodiversity/eflora/E-FloraTreesofBritishColumbia.html )

NALT Native Plant Nursery (http://www.gonanaimo.com/nanaimo/nativeplants.html )

Invasive Plants (http://www.for.gov.bc.ca/hfp/biocontrol/index.htm )

Invasive Species in Canada (http://www.ec.gc.ca/eee-ias/default.asp?lang=En&xml=C4637128-10B5-4F89-A914-FA968D770924 )

Invasive Plant Alert (http://www.agf.gov.bc.ca/cropprot/invasiveplant.htm )

Invasive Plant Council (http://www.invasiveplantcouncilbc.ca/ )

Invasive Plant Fact Sheets (http://www.na.fs.fed.us/fhp/invasive_plants/weeds/ )

Low Maintenance Lawns (http://www.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/en/co/maho/la/la_004.cfm )

Streamside Native Plants (http://members.shaw.ca/nativeplants/streamside_home.html )

Weed of the Week (http://www.na.fs.fed.us/fhp/invasive_plants/weeds/english-ivy.pdf )

Weeds BC (http://www.weedsbc.ca/ )

Broombusters (http://www.broombusters.org/ )

Qualicum Broombusters (http://www.broombusters.org/cuts_2010.html )

Invertebrates

Microscopic Bug Videos (http://www.pskf.ca/ecology/bugs/index.html )

Great Invertebrate Tour (http://www.pskf.ca/ecology/tour/index.html )

Bug Guide (http://bugguide.net/node/view/222292 )

Whispers in Nature (http://www.dereila.ca/whispers/beetles2.html )

E-fauna BC – Moths(http://www.geog.ubc.ca/biodiversity/efauna/MothsofBritishColumbia.html )

Animals

Beavers (http://www.humanesociety.org/animals/beavers/ )

Beavers and Wetlands (http://www.beaversww.org/index.html )

Beavers (http://www.aquatic.uoguelph.ca/mammals/freshwater/accounts/beaver.htm )

Hinterland Who’s Who (http://www.hww.ca/index_e.asp?useFlash=No )

Fish

Salmon Research Site (http://www.postcoml.org/ )

Salmon Identification (http://www.adfg.state.ak.us/special/as/docs/id_%20chart.pdf )

Salmon Identification – Marine Phase (http://wdfw.wa.gov/fish/identification/pac_salmon.htm )

Sockeye Identification  (http://wdfw.wa.gov/fish/sockeye/identification.htm )

Chum Identification  (http://wdfw.wa.gov/fish/chum/chum-4.htm )

Chinook Identification  (http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/fm-gp/species-especes/salmon-saumon/facts-infos/chinook-quinnat-eng.htm )

Pink Identification  (http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/fm-gp/species-especes/salmon-saumon/facts-infos/pink-rose-eng.htm )

Coho Identification  (http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/fm-gp/species-especes/salmon-saumon/facts-infos/coho-eng.htm )

Steelhead/Rainbow Trout (http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/fm-gp/species-especes/salmon-saumon/facts-infos/steel-arc-eng.htm )

Educational Resources (http://www.sf.adfg.state.ak.us/Education/index.cfm/FA/main.info)

Amphibians

Frogwatch (http://www.naturewatch.ca/english/frogwatch/bc/intro.html )

E-fauna BC – amphibians(http://www.geog.ubc.ca/biodiversity/efauna/amphibians.html )

eNature – amphibians and reptiles (http://www.enature.com/fieldguides/intermediate.asp?curGroupID=7 )

Birds

Vancouver Island Birds by Mike Yip (http://vancouverislandbirds.com/ )

What Bird (http://identify.whatbird.com/mwg/_/0/attrs.aspx )

eNature Field Guides (http://www.enature.com/fieldguides/index.asp )

Maps

BC Maps (http://geobc.gov.bc.ca/ )

Courtenay Parks and Greenways (http://www.city.courtenay.bc.ca/media/119995/courtenay%20greenways%20map%203.pdf )

Upper Morrison Water Features (http://www.projectwatershed.bc.ca/pw_web_docs/mapsandbrochures/MorrisonCreekHeadwaters/Appendix3/Morr_wat_feat.PDF )

Morrison/Arden Creek Map (http://www.projectwatershed.bc.ca/pw_web_docs/mapsandbrochures/SHIMCD/SHIMCompilation1998-2000/Appendix14/Morrison_Arden_Creek_Map.pdf )

Google Earth (http://earth.google.com/ )

Fish Wizard – Interactive Stream Map  (http://www.fishwizard.com/default.htm )

Lamprey

Western Brook Lamprey – Lampetra richardsoni (http://www.fishbase.org/summary/SpeciesSummary.php?id=2528 )

Latest on Morrison Creek Lamprey on SARA Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/species/speciesDetails_e.cfm?sid=593 )

Latest COSEWIC Info on Morrison Creek Lamprey (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/document/default_e.cfm?documentID=1152 )

Genetic Diversity of Brook Lamprey (http://mspace.lib.umanitoba.ca/bitstream/1993/3212/1/DAVID%20A.%20BOGUSKI%20MASTERS%20THESIS.pdf )

Pacific Lamprey – Lampetra tridentata (http://www.fishbase.org/Summary/SpeciesSummary.php?id=2529 )

Pacific Lamprey migration (http://www.nwfsc.noaa.gov/assets/26/7297_07212010_110009_Vella.et.al.1999a-rev.pdf )

Draft US Pacific Lamprey Conservation Plan (http://www.fws.gov/pacific/fisheries/sp_habcon/lamprey/pdf/Pacific%20Lamprey%20Conservation%20Initiative%20ver%20060809.pdf )

West Coast Lamprey Species (http://biologicaldiversity.org/swcbd/SPECIES/lamprey/index.html )

UK Lamprey Info (http://tna.europarchive.org/20080612220209/http://www.english-nature.org.uk/lifeinukrivers/publications/lamprey.pdf )

UK Lamprey info (http://www.first-nature.com/fishes/petromyzon_marinus.php )

IUCN Redlist info – River Lamprey (http://www.iucnredlist.org/apps/redlist/details/11206/0 )

River Lamprey – Lampetra fluviatilis (http://www.arkive.org/river-lamprey/lampetra-fluviatilis/ )

Least Brook Lamprey – Lampetra aegyptera (http://www.naturalheritage.state.pa.us/factsheets/11250.pdf )

Arctic Lamprey – Lampetra camtschatica (http://aknhp.uaa.alaska.edu/zoology/species_ADFG/ADFG_PDFs/Fishes/Lampetra_camtschatica_ADFG_final.pdf )

Weather

Comox Weather (http://www.weatheroffice.gc.ca/city/pages/bc-61_metric_e.html )

Courtenay Weather (http://www.weatheroffice.gc.ca/city/pages/bc-92_metric_e.html )

 

Other Links

Comox Valley Regional District (http://www.comoxvalleyrd.ca/ )

City of Courtenay (http://www.city.courtenay.bc.ca/ )

Village of Cumberland (http://www.cumberlandbc.net/siteengine/activepage.asp?PageID=1 )

Government and Private Agency Links (http://streamline-env.com/links.html )

Sensitive Ecosystem Inventory (http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/sei/ )

EnviroZine (http://www.ec.gc.ca/envirozine/default.asp?lang=En&n=94DCD5DA-0 )

West Coast Environmental Law (http://wcel.org/our-work/our-work-home )